When you have sent a reply to a message, the conversation is archived. As a result, the conversation is removed from your inbox. Only unanswered conversations remain in your inbox.
When your customer replies to your message, the whole conversation with all messages will re-appear in your inbox.
How to archive
Conversations can be archived automatically or manually.
Automatically: When you answer a message and all other messages in the same conversations have been answered, Replies will automatically archive the message after sending the reply.
Manually: You can archive any conversation by using:
- The Conversation > Move conversations to resolved menu item
- The Conversation > Move conversations to pending menu item
- The ⌘/ keyboard shortcut
- The ⌘⌥/ keyboard shortcut
- Or the left hand "Resolve" icon below the conversation list
- Or the middle "Pending" icon below the conversation list
Pending and Resolved
Replies' archive is divided into two parts:
* Pending conversations contains conversations that need follow-up * Resolved conversations contains conversations that need no further interactions.
How it works
Replies can archive in two different ways.
Leave Conversation in Inbox Folder: The messages are left in their folders and marked as archived. In Replies the conversation will be invisible, but in any other email client the messages stay in the Inbox folder. This is the default setting.
Move Conversation to Archive Folder: Replies moves the message to the "All Mail" folder. This works the same as archive functionality in Gmail. If you are comfortable with archiving in Gmail, this setting is recommended.
The archiving setting can be found in Account > Settings under Settings / Archiving.